Like Son, Like Father

Readers of this blog have met my father before, so I won’t go into too much detail here. What I neglected to mention previously is that my dad began cycling a year or two ago, after spending nearly a decade driving me to races, feeding me bottles in the middle of nowhere, and scraping me off the pavement at Merco (I always crash at Merco). I’ve appreciated his support throughout the years, but it’s nice that he’s able to enjoy cycling the same way I do: from a bike.

I’ve been there for many of his milestones: his first road ride, first crash, clipless pedals, etc. He’s developing quite well, and has even started attending a few group training rides; naturally, I’m fearful of the day he decides to race, because bike races are dangerous. Is this what parenthood feels like? I guess I don’t pay for his hobby, so probably not.

Anyway, the biggest milestone of all came yesterday evening.

My dad began questioning cycling style for the first time, and I have to say, the tree doesn’t grow far from the apple (or something like that…I guess the idiom doesn’t work inversely). Here’s an excerpt from our IM conversation (yeah, I blurred his nerdy screenname to deter all you online father-stalkers):

And here is the offending photograph.

My dad went on to say,

“I don’t really like the different colored wheels.
And I’d rather see the black and silver/gray scheme over the whole bike than front/back..”

Those of you who have been paying attention will know that I despise mismatched front and rear wheels and, while I can’t prove it, I had actually started typing a post about that very same Radioshack bike until I realized that it was so ugly, it wasn’t even worth my time. Trust me, as a graduate student, my time ain’t worth a whole hell of a lot!

Anyway, good call on Lance’s bike, Dad. I’m so proud of you. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

