The Crow

This post will diverge a bit from my normal material. Prepare yourself for a less-than-optomistic discussion.

My question for you is, have you met The Crow?

Chances are, you have. No one can avoid The Crow indefinitely.

What do I mean by “The Crow?” After showing you that creepy animated crow .gif above, I suppose I should elaborate. I was introduced to The Crow by my friends Justin and Randy, but as it turns out, I’ve been intimately acquainted with him for decades.

The Crow is the intangible entity that finds you at your deepest, darkest moments. He manifests himself in many ways, but you can be assured that when you are lying awake at night, worrying about work, The Crow is sitting on your bedside table; when you’re driving to a bike race at 3am, alone on I-505, The Crow is perched on your shoulder; when you’re sitting in front of a malfunctioning piece of scientific equipment late at night, The Crow is tapping at your laboratory window. When you find yourself despising something you once enjoyed–be it a job, a sport, a relationship–you’ve found The Crow. Nay, The Crow has found you.

Caw! Caw!

The Crow found me in Merced this weekend.

After completely botching the Snelling Road Race on Saturday, I was mentally and physically prepared for the following day’s criterium in downtown Merced. I was not prepared for The Crow to flutter his way into my Sunday afternoon.

(From Mark Nakamura)

I’ll be posting an official AltoVelo race report to the AV list soon enough, and I’ll link it to my blog as well, but for now I’ll just give a short description.

My teammates Joel, Bo and Tim were aggressive, but in the end, my anger from the previous day’s race enabled me to find the winning breakaway with a little over half the race remaining. Sadly, The Crow joined me in the breakaway, for reasons I won’t go into right now. I attacked (feebly) with 3/4 of a lap to go, but it went nowhere. I finished seventh (of the eight riders in the break), was awarded nothing but an extra large VeloPromo T-shirt, and left the premises with a distinctly depressed mentality. Yahoo won, followed by Logan Loader (some random French pro team), Collin Samaan (Wells Fargo), and Chad Gerlach.

Caw!

[Update: About three minutes after I posted this, I received a complaint that it's too depressing. Calm down, I mostly wanted t0 post that Crow image for fun.]

Leave a Reply

